DIY Face and Body scrubs with EOs

TLC didn’t want no scrubs. In other words, they did not want, no scrubs, meaning they want all the scrubs. Well, samsies.

Nowadays, if you’re talking about skincare regimens, you’re almost always going to be talking about exfoliation. Body scrubs and face scrubs are all the buzz and article after article from Cosmo, Allure, Women’s Health etc. say so. (And if they say so, it must be true then.)

Anyway, some of the best exfoliators can be found right in your kitchen. Add a bit of this and a little of that, a drop of essential oil and viola- 100% organic exfoliator at your disposal.

I have tried two different Pinterest concoctions so far-one for my body and one for my face. I wanted to try two different ones because the skin on my face is more sensitive than anywhere else on my body and so I really wanted to try different ingredients to target different issues.

Okay, let’s start at with the face. I chose this scrub for my face because one: I had all the ingredients (#winning) and two: I was intrigued by the ingredients. Let’s check them out.

Green Tea: Green tea contains antioxidant properties that may help to reactivate cells and fight against damaged skin and help get rid of unwanted pollutants.

Sugar: Good ol’ sugar is a humectant which may help the skin retain moisture. Sugar also contains glycolic acid which may help encourage cell turnover and fresh-looking skin.

Raw Honey: Honey is a powerhouse of nutrients for the skin. It’s loaded with antioxidants and natural enzymes to help cleanse and nourish. Honey may also fight against acne thanks to the antibacterial properties.

Here’s the recipe I used.

1 TB dried green tea leaves 2-4 tea bags depending on size of tea bag

1 cup organic white sugar or brown sugar,

2 TB carrier oil of choice

2 TB raw organic honey

10 drops lavender essential oil

Here is the one I used for the body.

1 cup of organic sugar

½ cup of organic coconut oil

10-12 drops of lemon essential oil

5-6 drops of peppermint essential oil

3-4 drops of vitamin e oil or another carrier oil

Alrighty. Bottom line.

So after multiple uses, I honestly like the body scrub better than the face scrub. Don’t get me wrong, they both did their job and I actually liked the texture the green tea gave the face scrub. The reason I say I like the body scrub a bit more is because I really didn’t care for the feeling the honey left on my face. I just felt like I’d have Pooh Bear chasing me around all day if I didn’t rinse the residue off.

But seriously the body scrub is a favorite. I really love the lemon-mint scent- it’s so refreshing and the coconut oil made my skin feel super soft afterward. Loves it.

There are tons of these scrubs out there and I plan to continue my experimentation (Coconut rose body scrub? Don’t mind if I do.) and play with the ingredients until I find the perfect mixture for my skin.

Sources: here and there

Author: Melissa

A girl living in this crazy, beautiful, extraordinary world.

Leave a Reply

